Penmaenmawr Sailing Club

Great sailing in North Wales since 1962

Visitors take the honours in Open Race.


Commodores Report: Open Puffin Race Sunday 4th September 2016

Visitors take the honours in Open Race.
Picture shows placed finishers L to R Tom Broatch, Kath Broatch, Tony Tansley, James Blair, Ieuan Williams
Penmaenmawr Sailing Club held their annual Open “Puffin Race”. The race involves sailing from Penmaenmawr around Puffin Island and back to Penmaenmawr. Although there was challenging conditions and very lumpy through the sound between Penmon and Puffin Island it was a good day for racing. Ten craft of various abilities took part with a total of 14 sailors involved, and all craft completed the course with Port Dinorwic Sailing Club members winning overall.

After handicaps being applied the results were:-
1st Kath Broatch and Tom Broatch  – Fireball
2nd Ieuan Williams – Laser
3rd Tony Tansley and James Blair – Comet
4th Dylan Williams – Topper
5th Carol Pye – Sprint 15
6th Bryan Wilcock and Joe Beamson Laser 2000
7th Dai Moss – Topper
8th Danny Blair – Topper
9th Mike Moss and George Moss – Dart 18
10th Arty Moss – Pico
Race Officers Hilary Moss and Bernard Carter
Patrol Boat Doug Blair
Catering Many Williams

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *