Penmaenmawr Sailing Club

Great sailing in North Wales since 1962

May 27, 2015
by bryan-webadmin

Puffin Race


Pictures shows second placed Ancel Davison and Julian Bridges in their Flying Dutchman preparing for the cannon, and The sailors after the race.


puffin-race-25may-bPenmaenmawr Sailing Club held their Open Puffin Race on Bank Holiday Monday the 25th of May 2015 saw visiting sailors from Port Dinorwic/Y Felinheli Sailing Club take all the 1st and 2nd honours. The race began with as a wet and windy start that developed into a lighter wind. Nine craft set sail from the start off the slipway at Penmaenmawr around a course that took in Puffin Island. The almost 4 hour race was keenly challenging which saw the mono hulls outstripping the catamarans. Prizes were presented by Club Commodore Gerry Frobisher and congratulated junior member George Weis for his well-earned 4th place. Thanks were given to Many Williams for the catering and Hilary Moss as Race Officer.

Race Results

1st Jo Powell and Corin Westley – Hornet

2nd Julian Bridges and Ancel Davison – Flying Dutchman

3rd Mike and Arty Moss – Dart 18

4th George Weis – Laser

5th Graham Rushton and Steve Widdowsal – Hobie Tiger

6th David Titheridge and Gerhard Weis – Bahia

7th Mike Robeertshaw and Craig Petch – Dart 18

8th George Moss – Laser

9th Dylan Williams and Carol Pye – Dart 15

Race Officer – Hilary Moss

Safety Boats – Gerry Frobisher and Doug Blair

May 26, 2015
by bryan-webadmin

Junior Gold Cup Race 24th May

SPicture shows eventual winner Dylan Williams having capsized and being overtaken by his brother Ieuan who came in third after the handicap system.

Penmaenmawr Sailing Club Junior Section held their 1st Junior Gold Cup Race on Sunday the 24th May around a course set out in the bay off Penmaenmawr. The Gold Cup is won by the junior sailor with the best average score over a series of 6 races throughout the sailing season. The race on Sunday was very close with six craft taking part in a North Westerly 10 to 15 mph wind. All boats were within nine minutes of each other at the finishing line. Due to the conditions there were several capsizes but all completed the course. The Commodore Gerry Frobisher presented prizes following the race and a special endeavour prize was presented to Daniel Blair for not giving in and completing the challenging course.


1st Dylan Williams – Topper

2nd Dai Moss – Topper

3rd Ieuan Williams – Laser

4th George Moss – Laser

5th Daniel Blair – Topper

Disqualified for not going around a buoy Arty Moss and James Blair – Pico

Race Officers Doug Blair and Glenn Williams

Safety Boat Gerry Frobisher and Mike Moss

May 11, 2015
by bryan-webadmin

Brian Butterworth PSC President

It’s with a heavy heart that we inform you that Brian Butterworth our Club President and dear friend passed away at 3am, 11th May 2015.

Our thoughts go out to his wife Alma and to Mark, Sue, Alison, Ian and the grandchildren.

Our fond memories of Brian remain, as does his legacy in the commitment, work and of course great fun enjoyed together over his 44 years as a member of the club.


Brian’s funeral is Friday 22nd @3.30 pm at Colwyn Bay Crematorium

Flowers – Donations to the R.N.LI.


April 30, 2015
by bryan-webadmin

May Day Weekend

This weekend – May 4th is the first Open Race of the season. The Spring Open. We will convene at 10:30am with a view to be on the water for 12:00. The timings will be dependent on weather, on the day.

I am looking at the weather forecast with interest, but Monday is looking not too bad. with force 3-4 South / South Westerly, and not much rain, rising temperatures (thankfully!). The afternoon looks better than the morning. High tide is at 11:50.

Weather on Sunday is looking a bit wet but we shall see!

If like me you haven’t braved getting wet yet this year, come down and start the season off with a great race on Monday.

Hope to see you all there
Sailing Captain