Penmaenmawr Sailing Club

Great sailing in North Wales since 1962

August 8, 2016
by bryan-webadmin

Great Open Day

Penmaenmawr Sailing Club held their annual Open Day event last weekend.

The club opened on Saturday the 6th of August to non-members and thrill seekers of all ages, to experience the thrill of sailing. The day was opened by the Mayor and Mayoress of Penmaenmawr Cllr Steve and Mrs Angie Banwell, Club Commodore Gerry Frobisher and Club President Bernard Carter by firing the cannon.
Gerry Frobisher said “We enjoyed a full and wonderful day of sailing with water and beach based fun, with members of the club providing supervised sailing and refreshments all day. Around a hundred members and non-members, many quite local but some from as far away as Manchester, took part or just watched the activities during the day, along with volunteers from the Conwy RNLI who manned their stall. The warm and sunny weather was a bonus and the excellent wind and sea conditions really made the day. We launched eight different craft including Picos and catamarans as well as offering banana boat and patrol boat rides. To make the day even more fun we had members of Conwy Sea Rowing Club and their long boat providing rides as well.”

1Mrs Angie Banwell Mayoress of Penmaenmawr, Bernard Carter Club President, Cllr Steve Banwell Mayor of Penmaenmawr and Club Commodore Gerry Frobisher opening the event.


3 4

August 1, 2016
by bryan-webadmin

Gold Cup Race 5

JnrGoldRace5Commodore’s Report

Penmaenmawr Sailing Club continued their Junior Gold Cup series of racing on Sunday the 31st July. The ten race series takes place throughout the season and sees the junior section racing different craft under handicap calculations around different courses in the bay off Penmaenmawr.

1st Dai Moss – Topper;
2nd James Blair – Topper;
3rd Arty Moss – Pico;
4th Daniel Blair – Topper.

Patrol Boat Doug Blair and Race Officers Bernard Carter.

July 26, 2016
by bryan-webadmin

Tally Race Report

Commodores’ Report.

Picture show Tally Race winners Julian Bridges and Ancel Davison with Club Commodore Gerry Frobisher during the prize presentation.
Annual Open “Tally Race”.
Penmaenmawr Sailing Club held their popular annual Open Tally Race on Sunday the 24th July. This year’s race saw 11 sailors in 8 craft take part on very calm to begin with but with some challenging gusty winds during the race around a course off Penmaenmawr. The race involved a beach landing at Conwy Morfas where the sailors collected a “Tally” before a straight sprint home to the finish at Penmaenmawr Sailing Club. The Tally race was won by a visiting team from Y Felinheli, Port Dinorwic Sailing Club.

1st Julian Bridges and Ancel Davison – Flying Dutchman
2nd Peter Lewis – Dart 15
3rd Kevin Fear and Oli Grant – KL17
4th Neil Shea and Carol Pye – Dart 18
5th Mike Martin and Alan Martin – F18
6th Craig & Sue Petch – Dart 18

Patrol Boats – Mike Moss and Doug Blair.
Race Officers – Hilary Moss and Gerry Frobisher.

Danny's boom broke

Danny’s boom broke

Helen Blair manned the Morfas

Helen Blair manned the Morfas

IMG_0225 IMG_0227 IMG_0235 IMG_0246 IMG_0253 IMG_0257 IMG_0259 IMG_0263