Penmaenmawr Sailing Club

Great sailing in North Wales since 1962

The Tally Race


Commodores Report; Annual Open “Tally Race”.

Penmaenmawr Sailing Club held their popular annual Open Tally Race on Sunday the 28th August with visitors from Portdinorwic Sailing Club taking part. This year’s race saw 8 sailors in 4 craft take part challenging light winds followed by gusty winds and choppy conditions for the second half of the race around a course off Penmaenmawr. The almost 4 hour race, which took in the Fairway Buoy and a involved a beach landing on Deganwy Beach where the sailors collected a “Tally” before a straight sprint home to the finish at Penmaenmawr Sailing Club was won by Club Members Tony Tinsley and Junior James Blair.

1st Tony Tansley and James Blair Comet V

2nd Julian Bridges and Ancel Davison Flying Dutchman

3rd Doug Blair and Danny Blair Wayfarer

4th Neil Shea and Carol Pye Dart 18

Race Officer was Bernard Carter, Deganwy Beach Marshal Helen Blair, Patrol Boat was Club Commodore Gerry Frobisher and William Radice-Horne

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *