Penmaenmawr Sailing Club

Great sailing in North Wales since 1962

Puffin Race



Pictures shows second placed Ancel Davison and Julian Bridges in their Flying Dutchman preparing for the cannon, and The sailors after the race.


puffin-race-25may-bPenmaenmawr Sailing Club held their Open Puffin Race on Bank Holiday Monday the 25th of May 2015 saw visiting sailors from Port Dinorwic/Y Felinheli Sailing Club take all the 1st and 2nd honours. The race began with as a wet and windy start that developed into a lighter wind. Nine craft set sail from the start off the slipway at Penmaenmawr around a course that took in Puffin Island. The almost 4 hour race was keenly challenging which saw the mono hulls outstripping the catamarans. Prizes were presented by Club Commodore Gerry Frobisher and congratulated junior member George Weis for his well-earned 4th place. Thanks were given to Many Williams for the catering and Hilary Moss as Race Officer.

Race Results

1st Jo Powell and Corin Westley – Hornet

2nd Julian Bridges and Ancel Davison – Flying Dutchman

3rd Mike and Arty Moss – Dart 18

4th George Weis – Laser

5th Graham Rushton and Steve Widdowsal – Hobie Tiger

6th David Titheridge and Gerhard Weis – Bahia

7th Mike Robeertshaw and Craig Petch – Dart 18

8th George Moss – Laser

9th Dylan Williams and Carol Pye – Dart 15

Race Officer – Hilary Moss

Safety Boats – Gerry Frobisher and Doug Blair

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *